NewsLocal News


Gov. Cuomo extends NY on PAUSE to May 28, state of emergency stay-at-home orders to June 13

Posted at 8:11 AM, May 15, 2020
and last updated 2020-05-15 11:46:07-04

BUFFALO, N.Y. (WKBW) — Late Thursday night, Governor Cuomo used the power of an executive order to extend the stay-at-home order, for parts of New York State that do not meet the reopening guidelines.

For regions that have not met the criteria to reopen, New York on PAUSE has been extended by Governor Cuomo through May 28. However, the state of emergency has been extended to June 13, allowing the individual executive orders comprising PAUSE will stay in effect through June 13 for regions that have not met criteria. Western New York -- including Erie, Niagara, Chautauqua, Cattaraugus and Allegany -- does not meet the state's reopening criteria.

Cuomo's latest executive order explicitly says, "All enforcement mechanisms by state or local governments shall continue to be in full force an effect until June 13, 2020 unless later extended or amended by a future Executive Order."

The Finger Lakes region, which includes the Rochester area and Orleans, Genesee and Wyoming Counties, has met the criteria. They are set to reopen as part of phase one Friday.

According to the order, "Any additional regions which meet the criteria after such date will be deemed to be incorporated into this Executive Order without further revision and will be permitted to re-open phase one industries, subject to the same terms and conditions."

ABC News is reporting New York State has more than 343,000 diagnosed cases of COVID-19 and at least 27,641 deaths.

The governor's executive order also says drive-in movie theaters are allowed to open.