Five regions enter Phase One of New York Forward reopening program today

Posted at 4:30 AM, May 15, 2020

ALBANY, N.Y. (WKBW) — Five regions in the state are entering Phase One of reopening Friday.

Central New York, Finger Lakes, Mohawk Valley, North Country, and Southern Tier regions have met the seven criteria to begin reopening. The Finger Lakes region includes the greater Rochester area and Orleans, Genesee, and Wyoming County, which border the Western New York region.

For regions that have not met the criteria to reopen, New York on PAUSE has been extended by Governor Cuomo through May 28. However, the state of emergency for New York has been extended to June 13th, meaning the individual executive orders comprising PAUSE will stay in effect at least until then for regions that have not met criteria.

Businesses in regions entering Phase One Friday will be able to reopen if they are in one of the approved industries, and if their reopening plan has been approved by the state.