SportsHigh School


South Park's Jeremiah Sanders wins Trench Trophy

Sanders was one of 12 area players honored
Posted at 4:15 PM, Dec 07, 2017
and last updated 2017-12-08 09:26:57-05

For the first time in the history of the award, a Buffalo Public Schools football player has been given the Trench Trophy.

South Park's Jeremiah Sanders was named the Trench Trophy recipient Wednesday evening. The award ceremony was held in Lancaster, N.Y.

The Trench Trophy honors football linemen in Western New York who contribute on the field.

Sanders was one of 12 inductees that were honored during the ceremony. Others inducted into the 2017 Trench Trophy Hall of Fame included Cleveland Hill's Manny Al-Hemyari and Sam Arrington, Lancaster's Joe Andreessen and Jake Calo, Cheektowaga's Terrance Bass and Tariq Whitaker, West Seneca West's Brad Claycomb, North Tonawanda's Jordon Holmes, Canisius' Will McGennis, Starpoint's Kyle Schreader, and Franklinville/Ellicottville's Walt Woodarek.

Stephen Boyd Jr. of Cardinal O'Hara and Joseph Powers of Lewiston-Porter were also named the 2017 Trench Trophy Underclassmen of the Year.