SportsHigh School


Pioneer's Mike Rigerman named 2018 Connolly Cup winner

Rigerman was one of ten finalists for the award
Posted at 11:05 PM, Dec 01, 2018
and last updated 2018-12-01 23:05:34-05

Pioneer High School finally has a Connolly Cup winner.

On Saturday, Mike Rigerman was named the 2018 award winner which honors WNY's best football player. He was one of ten finalists for the award.

The Connolly Cup winner is chosen by a committee who monitor games and performances on a weekly basis throughout the regular season. They narrow a long list of players to 20 before ten finalists are chosen. A voting point system is used to determine the winner.


2018 Connolly Cup Finalists:

Mike Rigerman - Pioneer (winner)

Keshone Beal - Cheektowaga

Alex Card - Southwestern

Aaron Chase - Starpoint

Shaun Dolac - West Seneca East

Dylan Kelly - Williamsville North

Jake Ritts - St. Francis

Cole Snyder - Southwestern

John Speyer - West Seneca West

Aaron Wahler - Cleveland-Hill


Have a news tip, question or comment?


Take WKBW Everywhere, on all your devices.  Download below!

Phone or Tablet: Apple, Android
Set-top Device: Roku, Apple TV, Amazon Fire TV
Amazon Alexa

Personalize your news, get the latest 7 First Alert Forecast, and watch 7 Eyewitness News video wherever, whenever.

Learn more here about what 7 Eyewitness News provides on all these devices.