Seven WNY counties declared disaster areas by USDA

Posted at 6:35 PM, Dec 10, 2014

Seven counties in Western New York have been declared a disaster by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

MORE | See incredible images of damage caused by the Snowvember storms in our photo gallery, which is in our special Snowvember section

The secretarial declaration was made Wednesday based on the massive losses suffered by farmers during the days-long storms. Genesee, Erie, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Orleans and Wyoming are all included in the declaration.

One of the hardest hit areas locally was Eden. At Zittel’s Farms, all three acres of their greenhouses collapsed,causing an estimated $5 million in damages. Greenhouses also fell at WD Henry & Son’s.