NYS adds five medical marijuana orgs, dispensing facility coming to Erie County

Posted at 1:52 PM, Aug 01, 2017
and last updated 2017-08-01 13:52:59-04

New York State is expanding its medical marijuana program with five new registered organizations that will operate dispensing facilities in various counties across the state. The addition doubles the number of marijuana manufacturers in the state from five to 10.

Patients in WNY will see increased access to medical marijuana with New York Canna setting up a dispensing facility in Erie County. The company will manufacture in Onondaga County and also have dispensing facilities in Orange, Queens and Suffolk Counties.

The state currently has more than 25,000 certified medical marijuana patients and 1,139 registered practitioners participating in the program. The number of patients grew by 72 percent since the Department of Health added chronic pain to the list of illnesses in late March.

“The New York State Department of Health is committed to growing the state’s Medical Marijuana Program responsibly,” New York State Department of Health Commissioner Dr. Howard Zucker said in a statement. “The addition of these registered organizations will make it easier for patients across the state to obtain medical marijuana, improve the affordability of medical marijuana products through the introduction of new competition, and increase the variety of medical marijuana products available to patients.”