NewsLocal News


You can now sign a petition to split New York three ways

Posted at 9:20 AM, Apr 29, 2019
and last updated 2019-04-29 09:20:30-04

(WKBW) — You can now sign a petition to split the state of New York into three autonomous regions.

State Assemblymember David DiPietro (R,C,I-East Aurora) created the petition.

The petition says that a lot of taxes from upstate New York are being invested into New York City. "New York City has taxed us out of our homes and our businesses. Our values are ignored and our resources are shipped downstate where we never see the benefits."

The state would be divided into three regions: New Amsterdam, Montauk, and New York. Each region would elect a governor and have its own legislature.

There is also a proposal in the state assembly. You can read the proposal here.