NewsLocal News


State of Emergency declared for Erie and Chautauqua County

Posted at 12:34 PM, Nov 01, 2019

ALBANY, N.Y. (WKBW) — Governor Andrew Cuomo has declared a state of emergency for 11 counties in New York-- including Erie and Chautauqua County.

According to the Governor's Office, more than 240,000 businesses and homes are without power across the state as strong winds and flooding swept through the region.

"Overnight a severe storm hit the state, bringing with it high wind gusts up to 70 miles per hour and heavy rain that caused flash flooding and widespread power outages," Governor Cuomo said. "This morning we did a swift water rescue in Herkimer County where a home was in danger of being swept away, taking five people out of the home including an infant."

The governor declared a state of emergency for the following counties: Cayuga, Chautauqua, Dutchess, Erie, Essex, Hamilton, Herkimer, Montgomery, Oneida, Saratoga and Warren Counties.

More than 200 members of the National Guard will be deployed and assist with cleaning up damage. The governor is urging motorists use extreme caution and only travel if necessary.