NewsLocal News


Property tax deadline extended for parts of Western New York due to the recent winter storms

Poll: Cuomo should not run for president
Posted at 12:36 AM, Feb 15, 2019

ALBANY, N.Y. (AP) — New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo is extending a property tax deadline for residents in certain areas that were especially hard hit by recent winter storms.

The Democratic governor announced an executive order Thursday that will give a 21-day extension to residents in dozens towns in several upstate counties. The impacted municipalities all had property tax deadlines during or shortly after recent winter storms.

Cuomo says residents shouldn't face late penalties because of mother nature's unpredictability. Extensions were given to four entire counties: Cayuga, Chautauqua, Jefferson, and St. Lawrence.

Some of the many towns receiving extensions include West Seneca in Erie County; Tupper Lake in Franklin County, Hempstead in Nassau County; New Paltz in Ulster County and Yorktown and Rye in Westchester County.