NewsLocal News

Actions

Hefty fine for those who don't provide contact info after travel

Posted at 5:28 PM, Jul 13, 2020
and last updated 2020-07-14 01:27:04-04

BUFFALO, N.Y. (WKBW) — Governor Andrew Cuomo announced Monday, anyone who travels from a restricted state and does not provide the Department of Health their contact information, will receive a summons and a $2,000 fine.

There are 19 states that New York outlines as restricted states.

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah

Anyone traveling from those states to New York must precautionary quarantine for 14 days.

Now, the Governor is saying if a person fails to provide their contact information, they will have to pay a fine.

“What’s the next shoe to drop? I’m worried about people coming to New York,” Governor Andrew Cuomo said Monday.

7 Eyewitness News asked to hear from you on social media Monday evening about the state's Enforcement Order.

Q: “Who do you tell if you came in from a high COVID state? Is this just for air travelers or people traveling by car also?”
-Karen asked via Twitter
A: Simply put, travelers from states on the advisory — no matter the mode of transportation — are being asked to fill out this online form. If traveling by air, the form is also available on board.

Q: “What are the designated states?"
-Adele asked via Facebook
A: As of Monday night, there are 19 states on the travel advisory. The list has almost tripled since the advisory was announced at the end of June.

Q: “How will they be enforcing that for those who drive into NY?”
-Dylan asked via Facebook
A: Drivers are still being asked to fill out the online form. It is important to note, law enforcement cannot stop out-of-state plates just for that reason.

Q: “I think the biggest question that’s been asked is how is it going to be enforced if you drive here or fly here?”
-Lori asked via Facebook
A: If traveling by air, members of the governor’s enforcement team will be at gates checking for completed forms. Niagara County Health Commissioner Dan Stapleton said state contact tracers follow-up with travelers whether by train, car, bus, or plane on completing the precautionary quarantine. If a person tests positive for the virus, the county takes over.

At the Buffalo Niagara International Airport, tables are set up with quarantine forms.

Buffalo Native Kayleen Cahill had planned to travel from Arizona to Buffalo for a family gathering in August, but she is now staying put.

"With how bad it is here, I wouldn't necessarily want to be around anybody there," she said.