NewsLocal News


Governor announces federal approval for major disaster declaration for Halloween Storm

Posted at 10:53 AM, Dec 20, 2019

ALBANY, N.Y. (WKBW) — A major disaster declaration has been issued by the federal government for the 18 counties that sustained damages during the severe storms and flash flooding October 31 and November 1, 2019. The 18 counties include: Chautauqua, Chenango, Cortland, Erie, Essex, Fulton, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Montgomery, Oneida, Oswego, Otsego, Saratoga, Tioga and Warren Counties.

The federal government has validated our experts' assessments on the damage this storm caused to public infrastructure, but it is only the first step in getting the assistance we need to help these communities build back.
Governor Cuomo

According to the Governor, FEMA has validated state and local government estimates that more than 33-million-dollars in response costs and infrastructure damage was incurred following the storms. Over the course of the storm, more than 100 state roads were damaged, closed, or otherwise impassable at the peak of the incident from floodwaters that overtopped multiple roads, bridges and culvert

I was on the ground the morning after the storm and witnessed firsthand the severe damage sustained by hundreds of homes, and the federal government must now do its part to ensure these families immediately get the funds they need to repair and rebuild their lives.
Governor Cuomo

The federal government has not yet decided on New York's request for funding to support homeowners under the Individual Assistance program. According to the Governor's report, 18 homes were destroyed, 135 sustained major damage, and 136 sustained minor damage.