Gov. Cuomo requests major distaster declaration for Wyoming County

Posted at 8:47 AM, Sep 01, 2017
and last updated 2017-09-01 08:47:08-04

Governor Cuomo has requested federal aid for 15 counties impacted by severe summer storms, including Wyoming County.

The governor's request for a major disaster declaration for those counties calls for both public and individual assistance. If the declaration is granted, FEMA funding would be allocated to the state and eligible local governments and nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis to support debris removal, structure repairs and emergency protective measures.

The public assistance portion of the request would provide funding to support repairs to public infrastructure, buildings, and the removal of debris. The individual assistance component would provide financial support, housing assstance, or assistance with personal property to New Yorkers with serious needs.

Aside from Wyoming County, the other 14 counties included in the request are Broome, Cayuga, Cortland, Essex, Franklin, Herkimer, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga, Rensselaer, St. Lawrence, Tioga, Warren, and Washington.

According to the governor's office, state and federal experts estimated more than $30 million in infrastructure repair, debris removal and structure damage as a result of these storms. At least 115 homes were severely damaged and approximately 230 homes and business were identified as sustaining storm related damage.