What travelers can expect from Tri-State restrictions

Flight to Alaska diverted after man tries to kiss girl
Posted at 11:46 AM, Jun 25, 2020
and last updated 2020-06-25 11:46:55-04

ALBANY, N.Y. (WKBW) — The New York State Department of Health issued additional guidanceon Thursday concerning quarantine restrictions on travelers arriving to New York.

These restrictions, which are now in effect and issued jointly with New Jersey and Connecticut, are for anyone returning from travel to states that have, "a significant degree of community-wide spread of COVID-19." The aim is to prevent a second potential outbreak of the virus in these three states.

According to the State Health Department, "all travelers entering New York from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents, or higher than a 10% test positivity rate, over a seven day rolling average, will be required to quarantine for a period of 14 days consistent with Department of Health regulations for quarantine."

As of Wednesday this advisory applies to Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Utah and Texas.

To check out additional quarantining guidelines issued by the state, Click here