Part of Genesee County designated Yellow Zone, Niagara County Yellow Zone expanded

new zones.jpg
Posted at 2:41 PM, Dec 14, 2020
and last updated 2020-12-15 08:42:17-05

BUFFALO, N.Y. (WKBW) — During COVID-19 update Monday New York Governor Andrew Cuomo announced part of Genesee County has been designated a Yellow Zone and the Yellow Zone in Niagara County has been expanded. The designations are the result of rising COVID-19 cases in those areas.

As part of New York State's "Cluster Action Initiative" the state can designate areas as Yellow, Orange or Red Zones and place temporary restrictions on businesses and social activities in an attempt to control the spread of COVID-19 in that area.

The criteria to be designated as a Yellow Zone is a 3% positivity over last 10 days and cluster is top 10% for hospital admissions per capita over past week and week over week growth in daily admissions.

The restrictions for a Yellow Zone are:

  • Houses of worship operate at 50% capacity.
  • Mass gatherings limited to 25 people indoors and outdoors.
  • Businesses remain open.
  • Restaurants can offer indoor and outdoor dining but must only have four people per table.
  • Schools remain open but must have weekly COVID-19 testing for students/teachers/staff for in-person settings.

In Genesee County an area in and around Batavia has been designated a Yellow Zone.


On November 18 a section of Niagara County which included North Tonawanda and part of Wheatfield was designated a Yellow Zone, that zone has now been expanded.


The Genesee County Yellow Zone includes: Batavia. You can find an updated detailed map here.

The Niagara County Yellow Zone includes: Niagara Falls, North Tonawanda, Lewiston, Lockport, Sanborn. You can find an updated detailed map here.