Bishop Malone ordains 15 deacons Saturday

Posted at 2:40 PM, Sep 15, 2018
and last updated 2018-09-15 14:42:23-04

The Buffalo Diocese announced Bishop Richard J. Malone ordained 15 deacons Saturday at Our Lady of Victory Basilica in Lackawanna.

The Diocese says eight men will serve as permanent deacons and seven men will continue their studies for the priesthood.

According to the Diocese, this is one of the largest classes of deacons in recent history.

The eight permanent deacons will be: Ronald D. Adamczak, David M. Augustyniak, Michael J. Dalessandro, Daniel G. Denecke, Jorge L. Silva, Arthur T. Sullivan Jr., Paul F. Walter Jr. and Robert G. Warner.  

As deacons the men will be able to officiate weddings, baptisms, funerals, and wakes.

Deacons may also preach and distribute holy communion. 

The seven men that will continue their journey to priesthood are: Robert A. Contarin, Moses O. Ikuelogbon, Aaron F. Kulczyk, Robert J. Owczarczak, Mario G. Racho, Patryk G. Sobczyk and Justin J. Steeg.

They will finish their coursework at Christ the King Seminary and graduate in May.

They are scheduled to be ordained to the priesthood in June 2019.


Have a news tip, question or comment?


Take WKBW Everywhere, on all your devices.  Download below!

Phone or Tablet: Apple, Android
Set-top Device: Roku, Apple TV, Amazon Fire TV
Amazon Alexa

Personalize your news, get the latest 7 First Alert Forecast, and watch 7 Eyewitness News video wherever, whenever.

Learn more here about what 7 Eyewitness News provides on all these devices.