24 NYS counties designated as a natural disaster

Posted at 12:04 PM, Aug 31, 2016
and last updated 2016-08-31 12:04:58-04

Many upstate New York farmers can now tap into federal funds to help recover from this drought.

24 counties across New York state have been designated as a natural disaster area by the Federal Government.

This means farmers in those areas may be eligible for assistance, including emergency loans from the United States Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency.

The State Agriculture Commissioner and state lawmakers will join other farm leaders to conduct on-site assessments of farms affected by the drought, while the state works closely with Cornell University experts to help study the outlook for recovery.

"Strong agriculture is critical to the vibrancy of Upstate New York and this year's hot, dry summer have created significant challenges to this crucial industry," Governor Andrew Cuomo said. 

Disaster declaration is based on reporting of crop loss to the federal Farm Service Agency and a D3 designation by the U.S. Drought Monitor. 

The 24 counties under this designation are in western New York, the Finger Lakes, central New York and the Southern Tier. They include:

  • Erie
  • Niagara
  • Genesee
  • Livingston
  • Monroe
  • Ontario
  • Seneca
  • Wyoming
  • Yates
  • Cayuga
  • Chemung
  • Schuyler
  • Steuben
  • Tioga
  • Tompkins
  • Allegany
  • Cattaraugus
  • Chautauqua
  • Broome
  • Cortland
  • Onondaga
  • Oswego
  • Orleans
  • Wayne