54th Annual ASCAP Country Music Awards Take Place At The Ryman Auditorium

Posted at 12:06 AM, Nov 01, 2016

The 54th Annual ASCAP Country Music Awards took place Monday night at the Ryman Auditorium, honoring songwriters, performers, and those who make Country's biggest hits possible. 

Ashley Gorley was awarded the Songwriter of the Year award, "Stay a Little Longer" by Brothers Osborne was awarded the Song of the Year award, and Warner Chappell was awarded the Publisher of the Year. 

Chris Stapleton was awarded the Partners in Music Award for showing exceptional dedication in presenting ASCAP members' music to the public, Chris Stapleton was awarded the Vanguard Award for the impact he has left through his songwriting, and Ricky Skaggs was awarded the Founders Award, an award given to songwriters and performers who have made pioneering contributions to music by inspiring and influencing their fellow music creators.

To help celebrate Ricky Skaggs, Garth Brooks, Alison Krauss, and Peter Frampton took to the Ryman stage. 

The top five songs of the year were also celebrated and performed at the awards show, which include "Gonna" by Blake Shelton and co-written by Craig Wiseman, "I'm Comin' Over" by Chris Young and co-written by Corey Crowder, "Nothin' Like You" by Dan + Shay and co-written by Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Ashley Gorley, and Chris DeStefano, "Save It for A Rainy Day" by Kenny Chesney and co-written by Matthew Ramsey and Brad Tursi, and "Stay A Little Longer" by Brothers Osborne and co-written by T.J. and John Osborne.