Western New York region to begin Phase Four of reopening Tuesday

Posted at 11:54 AM, Jun 29, 2020
and last updated 2020-06-30 00:03:15-04

BUFFALO, N.Y. (WKBW) — The Western New York region, which includes Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, and Niagara counties, is expected to begin Phase Four of the New York Forward program tomorrow.

The region entered Phase One of the reopening program on May 19, Phase Two on June 2, and Phase Three on June 16. The region has maintained the state's two-week phased reopening structure throughout all four phases.

Under the Phase Four plan, low-risk indoor and outdoor activities can reopen as well as media production.

According to a report last Tuesday, gyms, shopping malls, and movie theaters will not open under Phase Four guidance.

"It doesn't make any sense to me," said Mark Andol, the owner of the Made in America Store. He's already had to close one store located in the Niagara Falls Outlet Mall. He says he'll have to make decisions soon about whether or not to close more stores.

For the latest reopening guidance you can visit the state's website here.