Sabres Release 2013 Schedule

January 12, 2013 Updated Jan 12, 2013 at 11:59 PM EDT

By WKBW Sports

...

Sabres Release 2013 Schedule

January 12, 2013 Updated Jan 12, 2013 at 11:59 PM EDT

BUFFALO, N.Y. (Sabres/NHL/WKBW) --- The Buffalo Sabres and the National Hockey League today announced the team’s schedule for the 2012-13 regular season.

Buffalo will open the season at home on Sunday, Jan. 20 against the Philadelphia Flyers and will wrap up their schedule at home as well, with Fan Appreciation Night on Friday, April 26 against the New York Islanders. The Sabres will play on consecutive nights nine times in 2012-13.

The team will also play more Sunday games than usual this season, with 11 Sunday dates on the abbreviated schedule, including seven at First Niagara Center, after playing a full 2011-12 schedule that included only one Sunday game. The number of afternoon games has also increased significantly, with nine weekend games starting at or before 5 p.m., up from four last season.

Each NHL team will play 48 games entirely against clubs within its own conference. There will be no interconference play until the Eastern and Western champions arrive at the Stanley Cup Final in June.

Each team plays 18 of its games against division foes. Eight of those 18 games are against two of the teams in the division (four each; two home and two away); five games (three home and two away) are against one team from the division; and five games (two home and three away) are against the remaining divisional opponent.

Clubs will play three games against each of the 10 remaining non-divisional opponents from within the conference, playing half those clubs in a two-home, one-away series and the other half in a two-away, one-home set.

Below is the full 2013 Sabres schedule:

Buffalo Sabres 2012-13 Regular Season Schedule:

Sunday January 20 PHILADELPHIA 12:30 p.m.
Monday January 21 @ Toronto 7:00 p.m.
Thursday January 24 @ Carolina 7:00 p.m.
Friday January 25 CAROLINA 7:00 p.m.
Sunday January 27 @ Washington 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday January 29 TORONTO 7:00 p.m.
Thursday January 31 @ Boston 7:00 p.m.
Saturday February 2 @ Montreal 2:00 p.m.
Sunday February 3 FLORIDA 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday February 5 @ Ottawa 7:30 p.m.
Thursday February 7 MONTREAL 7:00 p.m.
Saturday February 9 @ NY Islanders 7:00 p.m.
Sunday February 10 BOSTON 7:00 p.m.
Tuesday February 12 @ Ottawa 7:30 p.m.
Friday February 15 BOSTON 7:00 p.m.
Sunday February 17 PITTSBURGH 12:30 p.m.
Tuesday February 19 WINNIPEG 7:00 p.m.
Thursday February 21 @ Toronto 7:00 p.m.
Saturday February 23 NY ISLANDERS 7:00 p.m.
Tuesday February 26 @ Tampa Bay 7:30 p.m.
Thursday February 28 @ Florida 7:30 p.m.
Saturday March 2 NEW JERSEY 3:00 p.m.
Sunday March 3 @ NY Rangers 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday March 5 @ Carolina 7:00 p.m.
Thursday March 7 @ New Jersey 7:00 p.m.
Sunday March 10 @ Philadelphia 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday March 12 NY RANGERS 7:00 p.m.
Saturday March 16 OTTAWA 3:00 p.m.
Sunday March 17 @ Washington 7:00 p.m.
Tuesday March 19 @ Montreal 7:30 p.m.
Thursday March 21 TORONTO 7:00 p.m.
Saturday March 23 @ Montreal 7:00 p.m.
Tuesday March 26 @ Tampa Bay 7:30 p.m.
Thursday March 28 @ Florida 7:30 p.m.
Saturday March 30 WASHINGTON 7:00 p.m.
Sunday March 31 BOSTON 7:00 p.m.
Tuesday April 2 @ Pittsburgh 7:30 p.m.
Friday April 5 OTTAWA 7:00 p.m.
Sunday April 7 NEW JERSEY 7:00 p.m.
Tuesday April 9 @ Winnipeg 8:00 p.m.
Thursday April 11 MONTREAL 7:00 p.m.
Saturday April 13 PHILADELPHIA 3:00 p.m.
Sunday April 14 TAMPA BAY 5:00 p.m.
Wednesday April 17 @ Boston 7:30 p.m.
Friday April 19 NY RANGERS 7:00 p.m.
Saturday April 20 @ Pittsburgh 7:00 p.m.
Monday April 22 WINNIPEG 7:00 p.m.
Friday April 26 NY ISLANDERS 7:00 p.m.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.