Bills Name Minority Coaching Fellowship Participants

July 22, 2014 Updated Jul 22, 2014 at 3:58 PM EDT

By WKBW Sports



Bills Name Minority Coaching Fellowship Participants

July 22, 2014 Updated Jul 22, 2014 at 3:58 PM EDT

PITTSFORD, NY (Bills Press Release) - The Buffalo Bills have named Siriki Diabate, Chris McAlister and Myles Russ as the 2014 Bill Walsh Minority Coaching Fellowship participants. Diabate, McAlister and Russ will assist the Bills’ coaching staff during training camp at St. John Fisher College in Pittsford, NY.

Diabate will work with the Bills’ linebackers. A graduate of Syracuse University, Diabate was a 2012 team co-captain and led an Orange defense which ranked sixth nationally in tackles for a loss. Over his two-year career at Syracuse, Diabate totaled 101 tackles, 13.5 tackles for a loss, one forced fumble and one fumble recovery in 24 games. Diabate is currently a Graduate Assistant at his alma mater working with the linebackers.

McAlister will assist with the Bills’ defensive backs. After a standout collegiate career at the University of Arizona, McAlister played 11 seasons in the NFL, including stints Baltimore and New Orleans. A two-time All-Pro and three-time Pro Bowl selection, McAlister also was a member of the Ravens team that won Super Bowl XXXV. He finished his career with 339 tackles, 26 interceptions and five touchdowns. McAlister played under current Bills defensive backs coach, Donnie Henderson, from 1999-2003.

Russ will assist with the Bills’ running backs. After finishing his collegiate career as one of the most decorated players in school history, Russ became a coach at his alma mater of Robert Morris University. He’ll be entering his third season as an assistant coach working with the running backs and is the program’s all-time leading rusher with 4,271 yards from 2007 to 2010.

Diabate, McAlister and Russ join Bills’ running backs coach Tyrone Wheatley as fellow recipients of the honor. Wheatley earned the distinction twice, with Tampa Bay in July 2006 and Pittsburgh in June 2008.

The Bill Walsh Minority Coaching Fellowship is designed to expose talented minority college coaches to the methods and philosophies of summer NFL training camps. Walsh introduced the idea to the league in 1987 when he brought in a group of such coaches into his San Francisco 49ers training camp. Eventually every NFL team became a participant in the program.

The Buffalo Bills have participated in the Bill Walsh Minority Coaching Fellowship program since 1989.

Below is a list of Buffalo’s participants in the Bill Walsh Minority Coaching Fellowship program.

1989: Curtis Jones, Southern Methodist University
Mac Singleton, Harvard
1990: Bobby Turner, Ohio State
Lenny Willis, Boston College
1991: Rudy Hughes, Lehigh University
Ricky Porter, Slippery Rock
1992: Juan Castillo, Texas A & I
Gary Emanuel, Syracuse
1993: Ron Sharpless, Virginia Tech.
Sherman Smith, Illinois
1994: Dwayne Dixon, Florida
Jethro Franklin, Fresno State
1995: Louis Garza, Southwest Texas State
Buddy Wyatt, Minnesota
1996: Art Valero, Utah State
Theo Young, Rice
1997: Sanders Shivers, Howard
Donnie Roberts, Lehigh
1998: David Moody, Jr, Texas Tech
Vernon Perry, Prairie View A&M
1999: James Saxton, Rutgers
Dennis Simmons, Cornell
2000: Derrick Burroughs
Andrew Dees, Stony Brook
2001: Reginald Brown, Texas Southern
Ricky Hunley, Florida
2002: Reginald Brown, Texas Southern
O’Neill Gilbert, no affiliation
2003: Barry Foster, NFLEL
Robert Lyles, AFL
2004: Joe Bowden, NFLEL Coaching intern
Tim Lester, NFLEL Coaching intern
2005: Broderick Lee Fobbs, Northwestern State
Antonio Goss, University at Buffalo and former NFL player
Ernie Mills, former NFL player
2006: Steve Little, Trinity International
Adrian White, Former NFLEL coach and NFL player
2007: Steve Little, Trinity International
Nathan Poole, former NFL player
Adrian White, former NFL player
2008: Jeff Burris, former NFL player
Kenneth Ray, North Carolina A&T
2009: Michael Barrow, former NFL player
Dwayne Foster, Prairie View A&M
2010: Ricky Brumfield, Fairmont State
Steve Ellis, Middle Tennessee State
Brian Jean-Mary, Louisville
Dennis Springer, Indiana
2011: Jamal Fobbs, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Ernest Jones, University at Buffalo
William Inge, University at Buffalo
2012: Eugene Daniel, former NFL player
Keith Higdon, Tuskegee
Rashaan Jordan, Brockport
Gabe Northern, Prairie View A&M
2013: Antwon Bailey, St. Johns College High School
Michael Grant, North Texas University
Matthew Scott, University of Albany
Jamar Nesbit, former NFL player
Kevin Mawae, former NFL player
2014: Siriki Diabate, Syracuse University
Chris McAlister, former NFL player
Myles Russ, Robert Morris University

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.