2012 Teachers of Merit

June 5, 2012 Updated Jun 5, 2012 at 7:51 AM EDT

By G. Scott Thomas, Projects Editor - Business First


2012 Teachers of Merit

June 5, 2012 Updated Jun 5, 2012 at 7:51 AM EDT

The following are the 25 winners of Business First's 2012 Teachers of Merit awards, which spotlight outstanding work by Western New York teachers in the classroom and in extracurricular venues. Each is followed by the name of his or her school.

You can see photos of all honorees at: http://www.bizjournals.com/buffalo/news/2012/06/05/meet-this-years-25-teachers-of-merit.html. Profiles of the 25 winners will be available in Business First's 2012-2013 Guide to Western New York Schools, which will be published on June 15.

• Amy Butler (West Valley Central School)

• Ashli Dreher (Lewiston-Porter Senior High School)

• Jennifer Egan (Holy Angels Academy)

• Kenneth Feltges (Mount St. Mary Academy)

• David Glahe (Hyde Park School)

• Joleen Gugino (West Seneca East Senior High School)

• Michael Hennessy (Hamburg High School)

• Lorna Hill (Visual & Performing Arts Academy)

• Jodi Huber (Brocton Elementary School)

• Deborah Kawaler (Country Parkway Elementary School)

• Anna Martinick (Kadimah School of Buffalo)

• William McFarland (Frewsburg Junior-Senior High School)

• Michael Milliman (Smallwood Drive School)

• Cindy Morgan (Elba Junior-Senior High School)

• Jefferson Pagett (Southwestern Senior High School)

• Stephen Pierce (Eden Junior-Senior High School)

• Jeffrey Pyskaty (Barker Middle-High School)

• Michael Ray (Kenmore East Senior High School)

• Bruce Reopolos (St. Francis High School)

• Amanda Riggs (Newfane Middle School)

• Karl Schneider Jr. (Pembroke Junior-Senior High School)

• Gary Simboli (Charles D'Amico High School)

• David Smith (Clarence Senior High School)

• Sharon Sobierajski (P.S. 156 Frederick Law Olmsted)

• Kyle Steever (Gowanda Middle School)

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.