Grand Island Repeats As Tech War Champions

January 12, 2011 Updated Nov 2, 2013 at 1:49 AM EDT

By WKBW News


Grand Island Repeats As Tech War Champions

January 12, 2011 Updated Nov 2, 2013 at 1:49 AM EDT

SANBORN, N.Y. –(WKBW-TV) Grand Island High School was the overall winner of the 2011 Tech Wars competition held on Wednesday January 12th at Niagara County Community College. The Vikings won for the second consecutive year with 49 points, finishing ahead of 2009 champion Lockport which had 27 final points. Tonawanda City and Williamsville tied for third place with 22 points.

Tech Wars is a technology fair for all middle and high school technology students with competitions in all disciplines of technology education that allows students an opportunity to display and demonstrate their technological abilities. Students can enter any project from drawings to robots or bring any project and enter it in the Static/Dynamic Project Display category.

Over 700 middle school and high school students and faculty from 24 Western New York school districts were in attendance at NCCC. There were 22 competitions including: structural design testing on a seismic shake table, Kid Wind windmill design, CADD/Solid Modeling/Architectural competitions, robotic competitions, bridge crushing, t-shirt design (water and the environment theme), as well as a unique musical instrument design. Awards were handed out to winners in each category.

The Results:

2 D Drafting Dropoff

1st-Mitchell Maziarz-Clev-Hill

2nd-Ryan Mulhisen-BOCES

3rd-Adam Stockton-Lockport

Honorable Mention:

1st- Colin Stutz-Lockport

2nd-Ryan Czerwinski-BOCES

3rd-Olivia Denny-Barker


1ST-Jay Corrao-Grand Island

2nd-Curtis Digiacomo-Grand Island

3rd-Chris Hannah-Newfane

Honorable Mention:

Nick Condren-Newfane

Sam Buncy-Lewport

Alexis Richbard-Barker

Alexander Hokaj-BOCES

Tyler Scheving/Griffen Raymond

B McLean-Grand Island


1st-Andrew Sellers, Ken Dowd , & Chris Randolph -Newfane

2nd-Alan Craft, Jeremy Hachten, -Cleveland Hill

Madeline Amerine-North Park

3rd-Jennifer Green-Sweet Home

Robin Hammond-North Park

CO2 Race Cars

1st-Sarah Szortyka, TCSD

2nd-Chuck Richards, TCSD

3rd-Andy Ball-TCSD


1ST-Mathew Kinzcki, Glenn Gugino

2nd- Jake French Frontier

3rd-Gina Lane Cleveland Hill

4th- Krees VanBourgondien Lockport


1ST-Ben Vanacore, Allison Carloni-Geldard-Albion M.S.

2nd-Nicholas Brounscheidel, North Park M.S.

3rd- Dyer BenJousky Jordan Hamilton-Albion M.S.


1st-Evan Shaw, Kyle Held, Katy Brady-Grand Island

2nd –Travis Willard, Dylan Jonathan, Mark Walters-Akron High

3rd-Justin Jaquin, Aaron Yeates, Nicole Boni-Tonawanda High

SUMO Robots

1st-Geoff Federspiel-Grand Island

2nd-Sam Bucella, Brandon Davis-Lew-port

3rd-Adam Hankinson, Ryan McInnis-Tonawanda

MS Bridges

1ST-Kiarra Patterson, Breanna Wills-Lew-Port

2nd-Ayman Abdeuatif, Robert Ellgate-Grand Island

3rd-Jessica Evans,- LaSalle Prep


1ST-Dale Baran, Andrew Dale-Grand Island

2nd-Deztain Orolits, Vincent Eberhart-Lockport

3rd-Jeffrey Lavin-Tonawanda City Schools

King of the Hill

1st – Jordan MacGregor & Scott Laing, Tonawanda

2nd – Kyle Tessier, Josh Vacarro, & Mike Guiga, Tonawanda

3rd – Brennen Sailing & Mike Gillmeister, Tonawanda

Mini Sumo

1st – Vincent Eberhart, Lockport, North Park MS

2nd – Victoria Haak & McKayla Seiler, Lockport, Emmet Belknap MS

3rd – Dominic Ball, Lockport, North Park MS


1st – Bobby Dickinson & Brad Lubwig, Grand Island

2nd – Katie Brady, Grand Island

3rd – Chris Ray, Grand Island

Mousetrap Cars

1st – Leah Killian & Marissa Catanzaro, Grand Island

2nd – Josh Barrett & Sara Cichon, Grand Island

3rd – Robert Ellegate & Caitlin Conlon, Grand Island

Architectural Design

1st – Kendall Grapes, Williamsville North

2nd – Rachael Mordaunt, Williamsville North

3rd – Brad Bender & Eric Hockenberry, Tonawanda

Honorable Mention: Jacob Lebere, Sarah Neman, Cleveland Hill, Meghan Waltter, Cleveland Hill

On Site Engineering Problem Solving

1st – Tyler Lee & Chris Bataski, Frontier

2nd – Thomas Clouse & Chuck Ely, Pioneer

3rd – Doug Waz & Andy Smith, Lockport

Vex Robots

1st – Ryan Jackson & Jeremy Rockasaad, Grand Island

2nd – Matt Lenning & Jill Zbytek, Cleveland Hill

3rd – Seth Reid & Daniel Hochstinh, Cleveland Hill

Kid Wind

High School

1st – Will Lueth & John Owen, Clarence

2nd – Matt Macadlo & Courtney Flynn, Cleveland Hill

3rd – Daniell DiFrancesco, Hannah Lindsey, Andrew Willms, & Matt Doyle, Starpoint

Middle School

1st – Jeremy Miller & Shawn Miller, Williamsville, Mill MS

2nd – Abby Ferenczy, Maggie Fuzak, Katie Quarles, & Haylee Quarles, Williamsville, Mill MS

3rd – Ryan Sidorski & Logan Gare, Williamsville, Mill MS

On-Site Parametric Modeling

1st – Adam Blocker, Williamsville North

2nd – Liz Larimore, Newfane

3rd – Chris Hannah, Newfane & Nathan Harvey, Starpoint