(Erie County, N.Y.) The penalties for talking on a handheld cell phone while driving are being changed.
Starting Wednesday February 16th, anyone found guilty of breaking New York's Cell Phone Violation Law will be fined $100 and have 2-points added to their license.
Previously, only drivers convicted of 'texting' and driving had 2-points added to their license. Talking on a handheld cell phone only carried a $100 fine.
The New York State Department Motor Vehicles (DMV) said they made the change to make "motorists aware of the potential consequences of their actions if they use a cell phone while driving."
The new regulation will align the point penalty for both violations.