Finalists Named for 2011 All-America City Award

April 7, 2011 Updated Nov 2, 2013 at 4:11 PM EDT

By WKBW News


Finalists Named for 2011 All-America City Award

April 7, 2011 Updated Nov 2, 2013 at 4:11 PM EDT

Denver, Colorado-(WKBW-Release)

-The National Civic League (NCL) today announced the finalists for the All-America City Awards, the annual competition for civic activists and community problem-solvers. The 2011 awards event will be June 15-17 in Kansas City, Missouri.

“We’re very excited about this year’s participants, a very strong group of contenders with great civic projects to brag about,” said NCL President Gloria Rubio-Cortés. “These communities have tackled everything from tsunami preparedness to environmental sustainability, education, gang violence and economic development.”

The list of 26 finalists includes large urban centers, midsized cities and smaller suburban and rural communities. Listed alphabetically by state are the 2011 finalists:

Alaska: Kenai

California: Downey, Dublin, Huntington Park, Torrance and Yucaipa

Colorado: Lakewood

Illinois: Belleville

Indiana: South Bend

Iowa: Marshalltown

Kansas: Scott City

Massachusetts: Dedham

Michigan: Ann Arbor

Mississippi: Tupelo

Nebraska: Dakota County

North Carolina: Eden and Fayetteville

New York: Buffalo

Ohio: Cincinnati

Oregon: Lakeview and Seaside

Pennsylvania: Philadelphia

Texas: Fort Worth and Taylor Landing

Utah: Cottonwood Heights

Wisconsin: Beloit

Immediately recognizable for the “stars and bars” shield logo found on water towers and city limits signs across the country, the award is given to ten winners each year for community-based problem solving, grassroots civic engagement and joint efforts on the part of the public, private and nonprofit sectors.

To become a finalist, each participant completed an application describing three community projects to address local challenges. At least one community project must focus on the needs of young people. During the three-day competition, a delegation from each community will present its challenges and solutions to a jury of national experts from across the United States.

The All-America City Award is an honor achieved by more than 600 neighborhoods, villages, towns, cities, counties, and regions across the country. Some have won the award multiple times.

“People can’t believe the energy and spirit of this event until they experience it,” noted Hon. Sandra Freedman, who chairs the National Civic League Board of Directors. “It’s a unique combination of local pride and community innovation, and in these very tough times for localities, these communities give us hope and new ideas about how to do more with less.”

Sprint Foundation is underwriter of this year’s All-America City Awards. Sponsors are: the Gay & Lesbian Fund For Colorado; Southwest Airlines (the official Airline of the All-America City Awards); the Campaign for Grade-Level Reading, Jossey Bass (an imprint of Wiley), which is celebrating the 100th year of the National Civic Review; the Carl and Lily Pforzheimer Foundation; J.E. Dunn Construction; LSC Transportation Consultants; the City of Gladstone, Missouri; the City of Barnstable, Massachusetts, and the Hyatt Regency Crown Center in Kansas City, Missouri.

Learn more about the award program and follow events leading up to the Kansas City event on our All-America City blog at and the All-America City Awards Facebook page.

NCL is a nonpartisan nonprofit organization that strengthens democracy by increasing the capacity of our nation’s people to fully participate in and build healthy and prosperous communities across America. Find out more about the National Civic League at