All-Western New York Academic Team:

September 27, 2013 Updated Jun 4, 2010 at 7:19 AM EDT


All-Western New York Academic Team:

September 27, 2013 Updated Jun 4, 2010 at 7:19 AM EDT

They earned straight A's on their report cards, zipped through standardized tests with ease, filled key leadership posts in their schools, and won countless national and state awards.

They're the 100 members of the 2010 All-Western New York Academic Team, honored by Business First as the best and brightest high school seniors in the eight-county region.

Principals of area schools were invited to nominate their smartest and most accomplished students for consideration by a nine-member panel. One hundred and twelve high schools responded with 386 nominations. (Each school was limited to four candidates.)

The committee chose 100 winners, based on their records of academic excellence, school leadership and community involvement. The top 25 students were named to the First Team. The 25 runners-up were placed on the Second Team, and the subsequent 50 were given Special Mention designations.

Full details will be available in Business First's 2010-2011 Guide to Western New York Schools, which hits newsstands on Friday, June 11. Highlights are also available at the newspaper's website: buffalo.bizjournals.com.

This year's Academic Team members have distinguished themselves in several ways:

Class rank: Forty-six are valedictorians. The remaining 54 rank in the top five percent of their graduating classes.

Courseload: The typical First Teamer took 8.7 college-level courses during his or her high school career. The corresponding averages are 6.9 by Second Teamers and 6.6 by Special Mention students.

Regents tests: Fifty-eight of 92 honorees earned a perfect score on at least one Regents exam. (The other eight attend schools that are not on the Regents track.) The typical Academic Team member took nine Regents tests, registering an average score of 96.6.

College admissions tests: Thirty-four of the 100 students posted scores of 1,500 or better on the SAT (or the equivalent on the ACT). The 25 First Teamers had a median score of 1,530 (of a possible 1,600), which would rank among the top 1 percent of all marks nationwide.

Awards: Twenty-one winners are among the 15,000 U.S. seniors chosen as National Merit Scholar finalists or National Achievement Scholarship recipients.

Leadership: This year's honorees include 13 class presidents, 35 members of all-county or all-state bands or choruses, 45 captains of sports teams, and 47 heads of student clubs and organizations.

The 100 members of the 2010 Academic Team come from 71 high schools. Five schools are represented by three students each: Amherst, Canisius, City Honors, Clarence and Nichols. Nineteen schools have two winners each.

A committee of college admissions directors and Business First editors picked this year's Academic Team. The selection process was blind, with the names of all students and schools removed from nomination forms. Each student was identified solely by a number. Committee members reviewed summaries of each nominee's transcript, standardized test scores, awards and school activities, and then voted by number for the students they considered most worthy of recognition.


Colin Bogdan (Canisius)
Luke Burkhart (Grand Island)
Nate Chertack (Williamsville North)
Kaitlyn Chriswell (Clarence)
Sandy Cleveland (Lockport)
Eileen Cody (Nardin)
Ross DiPronio (Orchard Park)
Siobhan Hanley (Nichols)
Matthew Hill (Pembroke)
Sam Huang (Alfred-Almond)
Katie Hughes (LeRoy)
Nell Meosky (Williamsville East)
Joe Monti (Royalton-Hartland)
Will Pelham (Amherst)
Zak Persichini (Bishop Timon-St. Jude)
Colleen Reidy (Holy Angels)
R.J. Seager (Wilson)
Kelsey Shea (Buffalo Seminary)
Noah Steinfeld (Amherst)
Mia Stevens (Southwestern)
James Sundquist (East Aurora)
Jimmitti Teysir (City Honors)
Maria Tou (Clarence)
Clark Zhang (Williamsville South)
Isabella Zuroski (Maple Grove)

Michael Altman (Clarence)
Sebastian Augustine (Nichols)
Ethan Dewart (Barker)
Evan Falkowski (Akron)
Taylor Ferguson (Orchard Park)
Samantha Frank (Williamsville East)
Nicholas Gastle (West Seneca East)
Hans Glick (City Honors)
Seth Kline (Grand Island)
Gabrielle Kozik (Holy Angels)
Amber Lehman (Wilson)
Michael Liu (Olean)
Thomas Makin (Holland)
Alex Sandra Morgan (Notre Dame)
Jamie Nash (John F. Kennedy)
Timothy O'Hearn (Charles D'Amico)
Becca Siegrist (Mount St. Mary)
Justin Smith (Chautauqua Lake)
Renee Smith (Pioneer)
Sam Stahl (St. Francis)
Elizabeth Stanko (Nardin)
Claire Stewart (Fillmore)
Jeremy Styborski (Fredonia)
Benjamin Van De Water (Hamburg)
Jilene VanOpdorp (Williamsville South)

Timothy Adowski (Cardinal O'Hara)
Allison Altman (West Seneca West)
Deanna Arthur (Buffalo Seminary)
Kirstin Barber (Attica)
Jennifer Bentley (Jamestown)
Daniel Beringer (St. Joseph's)
John Billingsley (Starpoint)
Jordan Bischof (East Aurora)
Katelin Blackburn (Kenmore East)
Victoria Brake (Iroquois)
Jenna Brydges (Lewiston-Porter)
Peter Carlino (Lockport)
Jill Chipman (Iroquois)
Jason Contangelo (North Tonawanda)
John Cormack (Alfred-Almond)
Christine Crowe (Bolivar-Richburg)
Hannah Doyle (Oakfield-Alabama)
Taylor Eldridge (Cleveland Hill)
Rachael Farley (Warsaw)
Mark Geise (Fredonia)
Alison Ghise (Pavilion)
Andrew Greeley (Cassadaga Valley)
Joseph Groele (Allegany-Limestone)
Miriam Harms (Eden)
John Heck (West Seneca East)
Jake Herskind (Nichols)
Sahil Jain (Batavia)
Catherine Kellogg (Wellsville)
Max Kilb (Canisius)
Matthew Loecher (Lancaster)
Liz Mannarino (Niagara Falls)
Mary Ana McKay (Perry)
Karen Meess (Frontier)
Carlene Miller (Alden)
Sarah Miller (Cuba-Rushford)
Julia Morrissey (City Honors)
Hannah Norris (Alden)
Marissa Paradowski (Depew)
Dan Pellegrino (Kenmore West)
Devon Reynolds (Amherst)
Jake Roberts (Panama)
Peter Roehmholdt (Canisius)
Patrick Salemme (Jamestown)
James Schuler (Newfane)
Neha Singh (Williamsville North)
Tom Sisti (St. Francis)
Jordan Steele (Falconer)
Spencer Whitt (Leonardo Da Vinci)
Casey Wright (Southwestern)
Chang Guo Zhan (Lackawanna)